Revell SR 71 Black Bird 1/72 scale (Part 2)

Hi folks ! Finally, it is here. The second part of my review for the SR-71 Black Bird.

SR-71 Front Landing Gear

SR-71 Front Landing Gear

Few of the parts I settled it with my Gundam Marker pen. Surprisingly, those marker pen works like wonders for any model kit. Such as this one. I came across with lots of references for the landing gear. Most of it came in white colour based. So for the white part, I used either the Gundam marker pen or the Tamiya Pure White colour Spray paint.

SR 71 Black Bird Finished

SR 71 Black Bird Finished

She’s a beauty isn’t it? Even if we never had the chance to look at her from upclose, I do admit that she is one of the best looking plane I have ever seen in photographs and videos. Although retired and is now in the US Airspace Museum, I still say the SR-71 Black Bird is definitely a beauty in the eye for most plane lovers.

SR - 71 Black Bird Decals

SR – 71 Black Bird Decals

I totally did not even noticed that there were two sets of water slide decals for the Black Bird. One was for Okinawa and the other was for Canadian flight. I ended up using both. On the manual, builders were given two options. Its either they punch a hole on top of the SR-71 Black Bird or they can just make use of the transport as seen on the picture on top.

Personally, I wanted to punch a hole on its body and place its drone on top of it. My Tamiya drill bit broke as I was doing some other project. I will have to grab a new one soon….

So, the story of my SR – 71 building experience came to an end…although it was not really well built, but I would say the model kit alone was a great experience…

Lastly, any weathering effect? Of course…I could not bare to see my model kit being too shiny…and looking so much like a cheap plastic kit. The final touch was none other than the Tamiya weather mastering effect. I never regretted of buying one back then when I did not have the property of an air brush.

Next up, Tamiya F/A 18 E Super Hornet. Another favourite of mine…

Leave a Reply

Glasgow Film

The Glasgow film scene readily available for you

MediArray

Reviews and articles on movies, music, video games, and more

This is Me; Melissa's Blog

to live to love to learn

The Past and Present Future

Ken Hinckley's Ideas, Visions, and Opinions on the Research Frontiers of Human Technologies

From Swerve of Shore

A Blog by Photographer Aaron Joel Santos

Trevor Saylor

Photo Blog

Framework

Capturing the world through photography, video and multimedia

CATHERINE RYAN HOWARD

She turns coffee into books so she can afford to buy more coffee. And more books.

write meg!

Another take on writing, reading, loving -- and eating

Nicole Belopotosky

Everyday Art Blog

Doll With a Frown

Art & Love by Grace

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

hideosanstuff

Movies, Gundam Model Kits and perhaps a little bit of others

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

